Selling the spirit

We hear so much about how important it is to create the right culture within an organisation. I prefer to refer to it as the organisational spirit. A bit like the wind you can feel it but you can’t see it – there is however, no doubt, that it’s there! I believe that the spirit of any organisation can either attract or repel – customers, good staff, suppliers, partners and other stakeholders. It is so obvious when you walk into a company that has great spirit – its fun, a great place to be and the environment is conducive to innovation, progression and success.

Creating the right spirit is down to the leader and founders. It is not easy to achieve, in fact in really hard, to create a great spirit – but when you get it right, it helps your organisation to progress – at the coalface selling is made far easier.  Customers love to buy from organisations they like or admire. The spirit is created through:

1. Embedding values that everyone buys into

2. Having a cause and a purpose that brings value to the customers and stakeholders being served

3. An environment that encourages ongoing learning and personal development

4. Applying innovation across all functions and processes

5. Allowing everyone to be heard and respecting everyone’s views

6.Positive talk and outlook

7.Having a laugh – dont take life too seriously – fun is so important

Get the spirit right and you just attract positive stuff – when staff are happy they treat and look after customers in the right way. This has a profound impact on business performance and growth.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to Selling the spirit

  1. This has struck a chord with me John, as right now, my staff are doing better this week than I am at keeping our organisational spirit alive! I’m tired of working but don’t want to be fretting over the holidays about the to do list, so I’m eternally grateful to my staff for having such motivation and purpose. The fact that there’s bonuses next week may have something to do with it…

    Your post made me think “I’m not doing enough to develop our organisational spirit” but the fact that they are encouraging me on, makes me realise that it’s instilled in them. It’s been an evolving thing, but now that I’m personally benefitting from it and have recognised it, I’m going to make a note of this text as part of my goals for 2011.

    As usual, I wish I could have written this in half the words, but it’s late, so I’ll leave it and this and press “submit”. Cheers John and Happy Holidays 🙂

    • johnleachwp says:

      Hi Liz – great to hear from you – I totally agree with what you say that “its an evolving thing” – one that takes time to truly take route. I think as an organisation gets bigger the leader has to build the next level of ambassadors to get reinforcing the spirit. Not sure you can do it on your own as it can be quite emotionally debilitating. Hard work, but once its starts to gel things do seem to take care of themselves – the leader then act as the Captain of the ships ensuring that the dials are well and truly where they should be – have a great Christmas all the best for the new year and hopefully we will meet up at some point! Regards John

  2. huey ramone says:

    This is my first time i visit here. I found so many entertaining stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! Keep up the good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

