Ultimate competitive advantage – Self Improvement for entrepreneurs

Personal development is the ultimate source of competitive advantage. When you stop learning you run the risk of your business becoming stagnant. Growing a business is one continuous learning journey and every new experience presents itself as an opportunity to acquire more knowledge. Entrepreneurial high achievers I have worked with are lifetime learners combining both formal and informal means of absorbing new information. What is your strategy for learning? Do you have a personal development plan? Are you open to the advice and guidance of the wisdom of others?

The growth of a business takes many twists and turns and growth comes in chapters, each one presenting its own challenges – you need to be prepared. 

Openly speak to mentors, your peer group and trusted colleagues and ask them how they think you can improve. What could you do better? Rate yourself out of 10 in each of these areas:

  1. I have clear business and personal goals, they are pursued with a passion

  2. I am resilient and deal effectively with setbacks when they arise

  3. I take ownership for the decisions I make but I listen carefully to the views of people I trust

  4. I am motivated and just get on with it – success is down to me

  5. I am a strong and effective leader (myself and others)

  6. I work well with others and take a collaborative approach to business

  7.  I am innovative and take a creative approach to business

  8. I am a respected individual within my market

  9. I am an effective connector and communicator

  10. I always aim to excel at what I do

By answering these questions honestly you start to build a picture of where your self-development needs to focus. Drill down into the specifics of each of your answer and define very clearly what things you are going to change. Identify the resources that you will need to move you on. Explore courses, new reading material, self-study or one to one coaching to address the shortfalls. Everyone has a preferred learning style, find one that suits you. However there is lots of wisdom in the Confucius philosophy of:

  • I hear and I forget
  • I see and I remember
  • I do and I understand

The minute you think you know it all – complacency sets in and you could quite well be entering into dangerous territory.

You will not advance or achieve your business goals if you don’t commit to constantly learning.

Leave a Reply

